This is a 1740 map of Lower Manhattan
by John Carwitham. Note Stone (Duke) Street near the center. It
follows the same path today.
First, some history. According to NYC
historian Hope Cooke (who between 1963 and 1975 was the Queen of
Sikkim), author of Seeing New York::
settlement, elite Dutch
families, including brewers, lived on winding Stone Street, then
segmented into 'Brouwers" or Brewer's Street to the south of
Coenties Alley and "Hoogh" or High Street to the north.
(The section of Stone Street between
Broad Street and Coenties Alley was obliterated by the
construction of 85 Broad Street in 1983. But the curved elevator
lobby mimics Stone Street's old path.) Another section of Stone
Street runs between Whitehall and Broad Streets.
got its name in 1656. It was something of a boast, as it was the
town's first road to get paving. (The Belgian blocks on
Stone Street now are new construction.)
Between 1691 and 1797 Stone Street
was called Duke Street; after the Revolution, most of New York's
street names recalling royalty had their names changed.